Who We Are

Meet Our Staff

Sheth LaRue, Pastor
Mission: To proclaim the Good News through work and word
Vision: For all to know and thrive with their Creator

A near-native of Colorado, raised in non-denominational and Baptist churches, Sheth joined the PC(USA) in 2011. As a graduate of the University of Northern Colorado (2011) and Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary (2020), Sheth enjoys blending his passion for the English language with his desire that all people know the love of God. Prior to full-time ministry, he worked in ranching, construction, retail, and as a clerk with the USPS. In this free time, Sheth enjoys blogging about life (http://www.shethlarue.com), spending time in nature hiking, and in the kitchen testing new recipes. Sheth is blessed to be accompanied in life by his Quaker-chaplain-spouse Chelsea May and their cat Scooter.

Evan Closser, Minister of Music

Evan comes to us from New York City, where he recorded session work and taught private music lessons in his studio. Having family in Southwest Michigan brought Evan and his wife Amethyst back to this area, where they currently live in Berrien Springs with their dog and three cats.

Evan was classically trained in piano and organ, but he owns over 50 musical instruments and aspires to learn to play them all. Before moving to New York, he played for the St. Joe Youth Orchestra under Steven Reed. He’s currently working on teaching himself the harp, and is proficient in guitar, mandolin, ukulele, clarinet, and saxophone. He enjoys all genres of music, and is currently leaning into non-Eurocentric forms in addition to classical, jazz, and gospel.

Administrative Assistant (vacant)

Lee Hamilton, Custodian

Charase Dorsey, Custodian

Meet Our Leadership

Churches within the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A) denomination are structured as a representative democracy. Each year the congregation votes to elect individuals to serve on a leadership team called the Session. Members of the Session serve three-year terms, with a maximum of sic consecutive years, and they oversee and make decisions about nearly all aspects of our life together as a church.

Current Session Members:
Charase Dorsey (2022)
Shirley Hagelberg-Klemish (2022)
Katherine Loveless-Durant (2022)

John Kittredge (2023)
Libby Globensky (2023) – Clerk of Session
Michelle Stone (2023)

Gloria Winn (2024)
Terry Allen (2024) – President of Trustees
Liz Allen (2024)